A tour in my hometown

I’ve posted pictures of Helsinki to my Instagram account and they’ve been quite popular. I also asked about future subjects in a Twitter poll and Finland was on of the subjects voters a.k.a. you wanted to read about. That’s why I decided to give you a tour around my hometown through pictures. You may have seen some of the pictures but I’m sure there are some you haven’t seen. Guess how cold it can get in Helsinki during winter? The answer is in the last pic!

Guess how cold it can get in Helsinki during winter? The answer is in the last pic!

 

img_0581
Autumn mornings and the light that tells you that summer is over. 
img_0576
Amazing autumn colours in Eira, near my home. 
img_0570
Someone flying a kite on an October evening. 
img_0554
Getting home late at night. 
img_0521
In the beginning of September, still green but clearly the autumn is here. 
img_0515
Sunshine, autumn colours, lovely walk near Kaivopuisto. 
img_0518
A new hotel opening soon! And what a calm morning. 
img_0492
The Sinebrychoff park near my home. 

Before this colourful autumn, we had a fairly nice summer in Helsinki.

 

img_9782
Bulevardi (boulevard in English) is one of the most beautiful streets in Helsinki. 
img_9694
Some sort of sailing competition near Hernesaari. 
img_9627
Yayoi Kusama’s art work at Esplanadi park. 
img_9543
Suomenlinna and Särkkä islands seen from Kaivopuisto. 
img_9489
A calm spring morning in Hietalahti. 
img_0169
One of my absolute favourite places in Helsinki, Lapinlahti, near Hietaniemi cemetery. 
img_0343
Late summer and awesome skies in Punavuori! 
img_0107
The velvety nights of August. 
img_0106
At Eiranranta. 

Spring by the sea is always kind of chilly. And winters can be really cold in Finland!

img_9188
An old villa at Linnunlaulu, near the Central Railway Station. 
img_9175
Misty sea and swans, signs of spring. 
img_9044
At Ateneum art museum. 
img_9043
Such a beautiful staircase at Porthania, one of the buildings of Helsinki University. 
img_8854
This winter morning was really cold! It was about -25 °C and it looked like the sea was covered in cotton. On the coldest day in January 2016, the temperature reached almost -30 ° C, brrr! 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A tour in my hometown

    1. That’s so nice to hear 🙂 I read your blog posts and I guess you recognize these places, Eira, Hietalahti, Hietaniemi etc. These pics are mainly taken on my way to work or on a walk but I think I need to post some more pics from different parts of Helsinki as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

